About the Ensemble

The PERSEPHONE CHAMBER ENSEMBLE is an all-female intergenerational chamber music group, comprised of piano, violin, viola, cello, and mezzo-soprano. It has performed to acclaim in recitals in Northern California.

Its members are experienced artists with national and international careers both solo and collaborative. The Ensemble has presented concert programs including both string and piano chamber music and vocal and piano music.

Esteemed Bay Area composer Elinor Armer composed a new work for all members of the ensemble: “Nocturnes For Mezzo Soprano and Piano Quartet,” which was premiered November 4, 2018 at Old First Concerts in San Francisco.

The members of Persephone Chamber Ensemble are: Lois Brandwynne, piano; Ilana Blumberg Thomas, violin; Wendy Clymer, viola; Amy Brodo, ‘cello; and Kindra Scharich, mezzo-soprano.

Persephone Chamber Ensemble is a fiscally-sponsored affiliate of InterMusic SF, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to small-ensemble music in the San Francisco Bay Area.


Audio and Video

Meet the Members



Private house concert in Oakland. Program TBD.

10:00 AM

2724 Haste St., Berkeley

Gwyneth Walker: A Poet’s Heart

Faure Piano Quartet in G Minor, Op. 45

Faculty Concert at Chamber Musicians of Northern California workshop

Alumni Artist Insight Series Recital

Schubertiade Benefit Concert for Berkeley Piano Club: Trout Quintet, Schubert Lieder, Piano Trio Op. 100

Brahms Piano Quartet in C minor, Op. 60

Faculty Recital: Schubert Piano Sonata No. 19 in C minor, D. 958; five Schubert Lieder; Schubert Piano Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 100